Michigan’s National and Big Ten Award Winners

Tag: Butkus Award

12Dec 2021
Blog, homepage no comments

Michigan’s National and Big Ten Award Winners

Charles Woodson (image via Heisman.com)

I thought about putting together a post for each of the national awards that Michigan players have won, but that would be a bunch of different posts and a lot to keep udpated. Instead, I’ve decided to compile a bunch of national awards into one post while listing the Michigan winners and their season.

NOTE: If there are any awards you think I should add, please let me know.



  • 1940: HB Tom Harmon
  • 1991: WR Desmond Howard
  • 1997: CB Charles Woodson


  • 2021: Jim Harbaugh

BROYLES AWARD (Best Assistant Coach)

  • 1997: DC Jim Herrmann
  • 2021: OC Josh Gattis


  • 2021: Jake Moody

TED HENDRICKS AWARD (Best Defensive End)

  • 2006: LaMarr Woodley
  • 2021: Aidan Hutchinson

Hit the jump for more.

read more
14Jul 2014
Uncategorized no comments

2014 Butkus Award watch list

Jake Ryan

The 2014 Butkus Award watch list was revealed today. The award is given to the country’s top linebacker each year. Handed out since 1985, the lone Wolverine to win the award was Erick Anderson in 1991. A number of notable players are on the list for Michigan fans’ interests:

Trey DePriest – LB – Alabama*
Kris Frost – LB – Auburn*
Jarrett Grace – LB – Notre Dame
Curtis Grant – LB – Ohio State*
Jordan Hicks – LB – Texas*
Mike Hull – LB – Penn State
Jordan Jenkins – LB – Georgia*
A.J. Johnson – LB – Tennessee*
Taiwan Jones – LB – Michigan State
Mason Monheim – LB – Illinois
Jake Ryan – LB – Michigan
Jaylon Smith – LB – Notre Dame*

29Oct 2013
Uncategorized no comments

2013 High School Butkus Award Watch List

Michael Ferns

The 2013 High School Butkus Award Semi-Finalists were released, and there are a number of familiar names on the list. All of the following players have been offered by Michigan:

Kyle Berger – LB – Cleveland (OH) St. Ignatius: Committed to Ohio State
Dante Booker – LB – Akron (OH) St. Vincent-St. Mary: Committed to Ohio State
Michael Ferns – LB – St. Clairsville (OH) St. Clairsville: Committed to Michigan
Nyles Morgan – LB – Crete (IL) Monee: Undecided
Dwight Williams – LB – Junipero (CA) Gardena Serra: Undecided

16Jul 2013
Uncategorized 4 comments

2013 Butkus Award watch list

The Butkus Award watch list for 2013 was released on Monday, and there are several players of note to Michigan fans:

Chris Borland – Wisconsin
Jonathan Brown – Illinois
Max Bullough – Michigan State
Carlo Calabrese – Notre Dame
Glenn Carson – Penn State
Dan Fox – Notre Dame
Anthony Hitchens – Iowa
Christian Kirksey – Iowa
James Morris – Iowa
Ryan Shazier – Ohio State
Prince Shembo – Notre Dame

There’s also a Butkus Award given to high schoolers, and a watch list that includes 2014 commit Michael Ferns III, along with a bunch of other Michigan targets.