Ex-Wolverines: Class of 2002

Tag: 2002 recruiting

19Jun 2019
Blog, homepage 1 comment

Ex-Wolverines: Class of 2002

Left to right: Antonio Bass, Jason Avant, Matt Gutierrez, Braylon Edwards

Taking another step toward cleaning up the Ex-Wolverines page (LINK), here’s a look back at the class of 2002: the first year Rivals existed.


Greg Cooper – S – Flint (MI) Northern
Cooper came to Michigan in 2002 and redshirted. He reportedly had academic issues and transferred to Michigan State, where he made 34 tackles, 1 interception, and 4 pass breakups in 2003. He made 17 tackles and 5 pass breakups as a part-time starter in 2004. As a redshirt junior in 2005, he made 48 tackles, 3 tackles for loss, 1 sack, and 1 pass breakup. He finished out his college career with 31 tackles and 2 pass breakups in 2006.

Matt Gutierrez – QB – Concord (CA) De La Salle
Gutierrez is one of those “What could have been” stories, to a lesser extent than Antonio Bass, but still a bit sad fifteen years later. A highly touted quarterback recruit, he redshirted in 2002 and backed up John Navarre in 2003 (13/19 for 153 yards, 1 passing TD, and 1 rushing TD). Slated to become the starter in 2004, he tore his labrum in pre-game warmups prior to the season opener. True freshman Chad Henne had to step in, and Henne never relinquished the starting job through 2007. Gutierrez was still a backup in 2005 (14/22 for 133 yards) but transferred to Idaho State for the 2006 season. There he went 187/342 for 2,237 yards and 16 touchdowns, plus 5 rushing touchdowns and 1 receiving score. He was not drafted in 2007, but spent time with the Patriots (backing up former Wolverine Tom Brady), Chiefs, Bears, Redskins, and Rams; in his NFL career, he was 2/2 for 18 yards. He then went on to play Arena football but his career ended in 2012.

Hit the jump for more.

read more
14Jul 2011
Uncategorized no comments

2002 Offer Board

70 total offers

Matt Gutierrez – Concord, CA (Michigan)
Chris Pazan – Chicago, IL (Illinois)
Drew Stanton – Farmington Hills, MI (Michigan State)
Tyler Palko – West Allegheny, PA (Pittsburgh)
Trent Edwards – Los Gatos, CA (Stanford)
James Banks – Indianapolis, IN (Tennessee)

Darnell Hood – Harper Woods, MI (Michigan)
Pierre Rembert – Cudahy, WI (Michigan)
Thomas Clayton – Alexandria, VA (Florida State)
David Horne – Omaha, NE (Nebraska)
Maurice Clarett – Warren, OH (Ohio State)
Chris Wilson – Baltimore, MD (Penn State)
Kenny Irons – Dacula, GA (South Carolina)
Gerald Riggs, Jr. – Chattanooga, TN (Tennessee)
Erick Phillips – Hilliard, OH (West Virginia)

Jason Avant – Chicago, IL (Michigan)
Steve Breaston – Pittsburgh, PA (Michigan)
Carl Tabb – Ann Arbor, MI (Michigan)
Jemalle Cornelius – Fort Meade, FL (Florida)
Akieem Jolla – New Orleans, LA (Miami)
Matt Trannon – Flint, MI (Michigan State)
Roy Hall – Lyndhurst, OH (Ohio State)
Jejuan Rankins – Windsor, NC (Oklahoma)
Maurice Stovall – Radnor, PA (Notre Dame)
Marquis Johnson – Champaign, IL (Texas)

Kevin Murphy – Grand Rapids, MI (Michigan)
Curtis Justus – Perry, OK (Miami)
Aaron Kirkland – Fayetteville, NC (Tennessee)

Mike Kolodziej – Joliet, IL (Michigan)
Chris Felder – Oelwein, IA (Iowa)
Stephon Heyer – Snellville, GA (Maryland)
Nathan Rhodes – Bakersfield, CA (Washington)

Tom Berishaj – Sterling Heights, MI (Michigan)
Rueben Riley – Grand Rapids, MI (Michigan)
Shadu Moore – Paterson, NJ (Boston College)
Mark Farris – Pittsburgh, PA (Penn State)
Cody Douglas – La Marque, TX (Tennessee)
Justin Blalock – Plano, TX (Texas)

Mark Bihl – Washington Court House, OH (Michigan)

Rondell Biggs – Southfield, MI (Michigan)
Jim Unis – Gloucester, MA (Boston College)
Elvis Dumervil – Miami, FL (Louisville)
Clifton Ryan – Saginaw, MI (Michigan State)
Andrew Wicker – Clinton, LA (Mississippi)
Markell McKinley – Weir, MS (Mississippi State)
Chris Frome – Newhall, CA (Notre Dame)
Travis Leitko – The Woodlands, TX (Notre Dame)
Calvin Thibodeaux – Houston, TX (Oklahoma)
Edwards Johnson – Detroit, MI (Penn State)
Tim Shaw – Livonia, MI (Penn State)
Julian Jenkins – College Park, GA (Stanford)
Brian Pickryl – Jenks, OK (Texas)

Larry Harrison – Detroit, MI (Michigan)
Gabriel Watson – Southfield, MI (Michigan)
Brandon Greeson – High Point, NC (Nebraska)
Greg Jones – Jonesboro, AR (Tennessee)
Lyle Sendlein – Scottsdale, AZ (Texas)

David Harris – Grand Rapids, MI (Michigan)
Obi Oluigbo – Alexandria, VA (Michigan)
Brian Thompson – Saginaw, MI (Michigan)
Jeremy Van Alstyne – Greenwood, IN (Michigan)
Chris Hollis – Aurora, CO (Colorado)
Reggie Dent – Riviera Beach, FL (Florida Atlantic)
Mike D’Andrea – Avon Lake, OH (Ohio State)

Quinton McCoy – Chandler, AZ (Michigan)
Sammy Joseph – Marrero, LA (Colorado)
Vernon Russell – River Ridge, LA (LSU)

Willis Barringer – Toledo, OH (Michigan)
Michael Hinton – Burlington, NC

Keith Andrews – Monroe, LA (Mississippi State)