Michigan’s National and Big Ten Award Winners

Tag: Bronko Nagurski Award

12Dec 2021
Blog, homepage no comments

Michigan’s National and Big Ten Award Winners

Charles Woodson (image via Heisman.com)

I thought about putting together a post for each of the national awards that Michigan players have won, but that would be a bunch of different posts and a lot to keep udpated. Instead, I’ve decided to compile a bunch of national awards into one post while listing the Michigan winners and their season.

NOTE: If there are any awards you think I should add, please let me know.



  • 1940: HB Tom Harmon
  • 1991: WR Desmond Howard
  • 1997: CB Charles Woodson


  • 2021: Jim Harbaugh

BROYLES AWARD (Best Assistant Coach)

  • 1997: DC Jim Herrmann
  • 2021: OC Josh Gattis


  • 2021: Jake Moody

TED HENDRICKS AWARD (Best Defensive End)

  • 2006: LaMarr Woodley
  • 2021: Aidan Hutchinson

Hit the jump for more.

read more
10Jul 2014
Uncategorized 5 comments

2014 Bronko Nagurski Award watch list

Frank Clark

The 2014 Bronko Nagurski Award watch list has been released, and there are a few Michigan players on the list, plus some other notable players from the Big Ten, other opponents, and Michigan’s recruiting. Charles Woodson (1997) is the only Michigan player to have won the award, which is given to the nation’s best defensive player.

Michael Bennett – DT – Ohio State*
Joey Bosa – DE – Ohio State*
Shilique Calhoun – DE – Michigan State
Frank Clark – DE – Michigan
Blake Countess – CB – Michigan
Su’a Cravens – S – USC*
Carl Davis – DT – Iowa
Kurtis Drummond – S – Michigan State*
Devonte Fields – DE – TCU*
Kendall Fuller – CB – Virginia Tech*
Randy Gregory – DE – Nebraska
Vernon Hargreaves III – CB – Florida*
Ryan Mueller – DE – Kansas State
KeiVarae Russell – CB – Notre Dame
Jake Ryan – LB – Michigan
Jaylon Smith – LB – Notre Dame*
Trae Waynes – CB – Michigan State

*Offered by Michigan