2021 Scholarship Count

2021 Scholarship Count

January 17, 2021
Aidan Hutchinson (image via MLive)

Players are listed in order of remaining eligibility. With 88 scholarships allotted, Michigan is currently over its scholarship limit by 3. Meanwhile, 13 seniors are scheduled to graduate, so the 2022 class should have at least 13 players.


  • Removed RB Zach Charbonnet, who is transferring.
  • Added S Brad Hawkins, who is returning for a fifth year.
  • Removed LB Cam McGrone, who is entering the NFL Draft.
  • Removed RB Christian Turner, who is transferring to Wake Forest.
  • Removed LB Branden Jennings, who decommitted.
  • Removed OL Zach Carpenter, who is transferring to Indiana.
  • Removed LB Charles Thomas, who is transferring.
  • Added LB Branden Jennings, who committed to the 2021 class.
  • Added OL Willie Allen, who is transferring in from Louisiana Tech.
  • Removed LB Osman Savage, who plans to transfer.
  • Removed QB Dylan McCaffrey, who plans to transfer.
  • Removed OL Jalen Mayfield, who plans to enter the 2021 NFL Draft.
  • Removed DE Aaron Lewis, who transferred to Rutgers.

Hit the jump for the breakdown by class.

REDSHIRT SENIORS = 10 (Final season 2021)
OL Willie Allen
OL Chuck Filiaga
OL Joel Honigford
OL Andrew Stueber
DE Luiji Vilain
DT Donovan Jeter
DT Phillip Paea

LB Joshua Ross
S Brad Hawkins
P Brad Robbins
RB Nick Capatina
FB Matt Brown
WR Jake McCurry
TE Carter Selzer
DT Jess Speight
LB Adam Fakih
LB Ryan Nelson
LB Adam Shibley
S Jared Davis
S Hunter Reynolds
P Izaak Gerkis

SENIORS = 3 (Final season 2021)
WR Ronnie Bell
DE Aidan Hutchinson
K Jake Moody

REDSHIRT JUNIORS = 12 (Final season 2022)
QB Joe Milton
RB Hassan Haskins
TE Luke Schoonmaker

TE Ben VanSumeren
OL Ryan Hayes
DE Taylor Upshaw
DE Julius Welschof

LB Michael Barrett
CB Vincent Gray
CB Gemon Green
S Sammy Faustin
S German Green

QB Max Wittwer
RB Lucas Andrighetto
WR Matt Torey
TE Ramsey Baty
TE Luke Buckman
OL Kraig Correll
OL Griffin Korican
DL Joey George
LB Edward Warinner

JUNIORS = 8 (Final season 2022)
WR Giles Jackson
WR Cornelius Johnson

WR Mike Sainristil
DT Chris Hinton, Jr.
TE Erick All
DT Mazi Smith

LB Anthony Solomon
DB Daxton Hill

QB Andy Maddox
WR Matthew Harrison
LB Nolan Knight
DB Caden Kolesar
LS William Wagner
K Karl Kerska

REDSHIRT SOPHOMORES = 14 (Final season 2023)
QB Cade McNamara
OL Karsen Barnhart
OL Trente Jones
OL Trevor Keegan
OL Nolan Rumler
OL Jack Stewart
DE Gabe Newburg
DE David Ojabo

DT Michael Morris
LB Joey Velazquez

DB George Johnson III
DB Quinten Johnson
DB Jalen Perry
DB D.J. Turner II
QB Ren Hefley
RB Leon Franklin
RB Danny Hughes
WR Matthew Harrison
WR Hunter Neff
TE Will Sessa
OL Luke Fisher
OL Mica Gelb
OL Mahdi Hazime
S Keshaun Harris
S Joshua Luther
S Andrew Russell
P Karl Kerska

SOPHOMORES = 21 (Final season 2023)
QB Dan Villari
RB Blake Corum
WR A.J. Henning
WR Roman Wilson
TE Matt Hibner
OL Reece Atteberry
OL Jeffrey Persi
OL Zak Zinter

DE Jaylen Harrell
DE Kris Jenkins, Jr.
DE Braiden McGregor
LB Nikhai Hill-Green

LB William Mohan
LB Kalel Mullings
LB Cornell Wheeler

CB Eamonn Dennis
CB Darion Green-Warren
CB Andre Seldon, Jr.
S Jordan Morant
S R.J. Moten
S Makari Paige

QB Peyton Smith
RB Gaige Garcia
RB Isaiah Gash
RB Nico Tiberia
WR Will Rolapp
WR Jake Thaw
LS Greg Tarr
K Cole Hussung

FRESHMEN = 20 (Final season 2024)
QB J.J. McCarthy
RB Tavierre Dunlap

RB Donovan Edwards
WR Andrel Anthony
WR Cristian Dixon
WR Xavier Worthy
TE Louis Hansen
OL Raheem Anderson II
OL Tristan Bounds
OL Greg Crippen
OL Giovanni El-Hadi
DE Kechaun Bennett
DE Dominic Giudice
DE T.J. Guy
LB Junior Colson
LB Jaydon Hood
LB Tyler McLaurin
CB Ja’Den McBurrows
S Rod Moore
P Tommy Doman


  1. Avatar
    Comments: 1357
    Joined: 8/13/2015
    Oct 17, 2020 at 9:20 AM

    Not entirely sure what the rule adjustment is, but for the time being the total number of scholarships doesn’t matter. Correct?

    • Avatar
      Comments: 13
      Joined: 11/3/2015
      Oct 17, 2020 at 11:00 AM

      My understanding is that this year doesn’t count towards eligibility. So technically one of the 2020 freshmen could play in all 10 games, then play in four in 2021, and enter the 2022 season as a RS freshman. Weird.

  2. Avatar
    Comments: 3
    Joined: 4/11/2017
    Oct 17, 2020 at 10:53 AM

    Not sure if I missed something, but isn’t Jaylen Mayfield back in?

    • Avatar
      Comments: 3
      Joined: 4/11/2017
      Oct 17, 2020 at 10:57 AM

      Oh never mind. I figured it out.

  3. Avatar
    Comments: 71
    Joined: 8/11/2015
    Oct 17, 2020 at 11:46 AM

    Doesn’t this year not count for eligibility? So guys like Ben Mason, Chris Evans, Carlo Kemp could all stay for another year if they wanted?

    Any chance scholarship limits are changed for 2021 due to the number of players who didn’t exhaust their eligibility?

You must belogged in to post a comment.