Eligibility Count for 2009: 71

Eligibility Count for 2009: 71

November 7, 2009

Most recent updates:

CB Boubacar Cissoko was dismissed from the team for a violation of team rules.

CB Adrian Witty did not qualify academically. He must attend prep school or improve his test scores, but his Letter of Intent is no longer binding to Michigan.

LB Marell Evans is no longer on the team.

DT Vince Helmuth is no longer on the team.

WR Justin Feagin was dismissed from the team for a violation of team rules.

OL Dann O’Neill is no longer on the team.

OL Kurt Wermers is no longer on the team.

Walk-ons have been added. Scholarship players are now in yellow.

WR Toney Clemons has decided to transfer.

DL Adam Patterson received a medical redshirt for 2008 and will have junior eligibility in 2009.

DL Andre Criswell will not return for a fifth year.

5TH YEAR SENIORS = 6 (Final season 2009)
RB Kevin Grady
WR Laterryal Savoy
OG Tim McAvoy
OG David Moosman
OT Mark Ortmann
P Zoltan Mesko
DE Tim North
DE Lawrence Perry
LB Ohene Opong-Owusu
K Jason Olesnavage
SR Ricky Reyes

SENIORS = 5 (Final season 2009)
RB Carlos Brown
RB Brandon Minor
WR Greg Mathews
DE Brandon Graham
LB Steve Brown
WR Zac Baker

REDSHIRT JUNIORS = 10 (Final season 2010)
QB David Cone
FB Mark Moundros
OT Perry Dorrestein
OG John Ferrara
OG Steve Schilling
DT Greg Banks
DE Adam Patterson
LB Obi Ezeh
LB Jonas Mouton
K Bryan Wright
WR Jon Conover
RB Benjamin Sutton
TE Mike Therman
OT Bryant Nowicki
S Nick Koenigsknecht
P Nick Berry

JUNIORS = 5 (Final season 2010)
TE Martell Webb
DT Renaldo Sagesse
CB James Rogers
CB Donovan Warren
FS Troy Woolfolk

REDSHIRT SOPHOMORES = 7 (Final season 2011)
WR Junior Hemingway
WR Kelvin Grady
OT Mark Huyge
OC David Molk
DT Ryan Van Bergen
OLB Steve Watson
OLB Brandon Herron
FS Michael Williams
FB John McColgan
TE Jon Bills
OG Zac Ciullo
LS Tom Pomarico
DE Will Heininger
DT Dominique Ware
LB Rushdi Furrha
LB Kevin Leach
CB Tony Anderson
S Zach Johnson
S Doug Rogan
S Karl Tech
S Jared Van Slyke
S Jordan Reilly
K Scott Schrimscher

SOPHOMORES = 6 (Final season 2011)
RB Michael Shaw
SR Martavious Odoms
WR Darryl Stonum
TE Kevin Koger
DT Mike Martin
LB J.B. Fitzgerald

REDSHIRT FRESHMEN = 11 (Final season 2011)
RB Mike Cox
SR Roy Roundtree
SR Terrence Robinson
TE Brandon Moore
OG Ricky Barnum
OC Rocko Khoury
OG Elliott Mealer
OT Patrick Omameh
LB Kenny Demens
LB Brandon Smith
CB J.T. Floyd
QB Jack Kennedy
WR Patrick Collins
WR Elias Kos
OC George Morales
LB Paul Gyarmati
S Matt Cavanaugh
S Jordan Kovacs
S Floyd Simmons

FRESHMEN = 21 (Final season 2012)
QB Tate Forcier
QB Denard Robinson
RB Vincent Smith
RB Fitzgerald Toussaint
SR Jeremy Gallon
WR Cameron Gordon
WR Je’Ron Stokes
OT Taylor Lewan
OT Michael Schofield
OG Quinton Washington
DE Anthony Lalota
DT William Campbell
OLB Craig Roh
LB Isaiah Bell
LB Brandin Hawthorne
LB Mike Jones
CB Teric Jones
CB Justin Turner
SS Vladimir Emilien
FS Thomas Gordon
K Brendan Gibbons
QB Nader Furrha
RB O’Neil Swanson
FB Jonny Childers
SR Jordan Owens
WR Joe Reynolds
OL Adam Barker
OL Christian Brandt
OL Jareth Glanda
OL Erik Gunderson
OL Tom Lindley
DE Nathan Brink
CB Al Backey
LS Kurt Graman
K Seth Broekhuizen
K Eddie Murray
K Kris Pauloski

It is assumed that players who did not play more than three games in any year were/will be granted one redshirt year. For example, David Cone did not play as a true freshman, so he is counted as a redshirt junior, even though he may not be granted a fifth year of eligibility for 2010. Also, former walk-ons who are given one-year scholarships (such as Kevin Leach) are not counted on the scholarship list, since coaches will give that scholarship to an incoming player if possible.


  1. Comments: 21381
    Mar 12, 2009 at 3:29 AM

    Adam Patterson will probably receive a medical redshirt for last season, and will thus, be a junior. RR said that he and Kenny Demens applied for it.

  2. Comments: 21381
    Mar 12, 2009 at 10:34 AM

    Yep, I read that in the presser notes. I figured I’d wait until those redshirts are approved before I account for them on the board. Thanks!

  3. Comments: 21381
    Mar 18, 2009 at 2:39 AM

    Hello. Will you be adding the walk-ons to this list once they are known / confirmed? Or, is this only a list of scholarship athletes?

    I ask because I saw a lot of names on the press release that aren’t here.


  4. Comments: 21381
    Mar 18, 2009 at 2:43 AM

    Hi, Anonymous. Originally, this was only intended to be a count of scholarships. But you bring up a good point. Especially with Rodriguez stressing the walk-on program, perhaps the eligibility of those kids should be included, too.

    Thanks for the suggestion.

  5. Comments: 21381
    B Ready
    Mar 22, 2009 at 10:06 PM

    Has it ever been confirmed that Sheridan’s scholarship is year-to-year (like it is for most scholarship players)? I know Moundros’s is, but even the guys at Rivals are not too sure about that.

  6. Comments: 21381
    Mar 22, 2009 at 10:11 PM

    I don’t know for sure, but I doubt they’ll yank Sheridan’s scholarship at any point. Sheridan will be a redshirt junior in 2009 and might not return in 2010. As it is, he’s the first- or second-string QB – at least until Robinson gets here – so I doubt the coaches would be so greedy as to apply that scholarship elsewhere.

  7. Comments: 21381
    B Ready
    Mar 22, 2009 at 10:17 PM

    Right. He is definitely getting a scholarship this year. We have plenty to give out. I was thinking along the lines of next year, b/c right now we have 19 to give out (with Clemons all but gone) to incoming recruits. Ultimately, I expect our recruiting class to have roughly 23-24 players again.

  8. Comments: 21381
    Mar 23, 2009 at 2:43 AM

    I think it’s too early to tell for 2011. It depends on what happens this year. If Sheridan starts some games or outplays Forcier/Robinson, then I think there’s a good possibility that Sheridan will get a fifth year. But if the writing’s on the wall and Sheridan has his ducks in a row, he might just take the degree and move on.

    Every scholarship is on a year-by-year basis, so the player and the coaches have to come to an agreement to renew it for each year. You hear about players earning scholarships, but you very rarely hear about a player being stripped of a scholarship (unless, obviously, he gets in trouble). And when that does happen, it brings bad press (see: Ray Ray McElrathbey from Clemson, Alabama, etc.).

    Anyway, I don’t think anyone really knows at this point. There’s still too much that could happen.

  9. Comments: 21381
    Mar 25, 2009 at 3:14 AM

    In the coming years, that walk-on list is going to get a lot bigger, and filled with a lot more impressive players.

  10. Comments: 21381
    May 18, 2009 at 2:10 PM

    Good feature – thanks. I believe Watson is a redshirt Sophomore, not Freshman. Are we sure that Demens burned his redshirt with minimal special teams play? I can’t understand that type of eligibility waste.

  11. Comments: 21381
    May 20, 2009 at 3:03 AM

    Jerry: You are correct about Watson. Thanks for catching that mistake.

    Also, as far as I know, Demens has not been awarded a redshirt for 2008.

  12. Comments: 21381
    Jun 07, 2009 at 4:53 PM

    Tim North, 5th year should be included on your list. As a walk-on, he earned scholarships last two seasons and will probably have one next year as well.

  13. Comments: 21381
    Jun 17, 2009 at 9:08 PM

    George Morales now on scholarship.

  14. Comments: 21381
    Aug 13, 2009 at 5:46 AM

    I believe Kelvin Grady is on scholarship.

You must belogged in to post a comment.